Knowing who you are

Posted on May 13, 2011

1


This journey we’ve been taking with my mom who is fighting cancer has been such a life changing experience.  I’ve been challenged more than ever to define who I am and what I am equipped to do “naturally” and what is required of me to learn in order to be an effective burden bearer.  I’m not naturally a nurse maid and often feel like I’m drowning in their cloud of fear, pain and sorrow that comes when a person has to fight to live.  I am by nature a fighter so how do I stay strong and engaged in a battle that a loved one faces when they get “stuck” mentally?  How do I not lose focus of the “big picture” of my own journey as I link arms with a loved one on theirs?  And how to I execute the Joy of the Lord not just in my own life but in the lives of my children when one battle after another chooses me?

I did a quick Google search asking “advice a person who is supporting someone with cancer should know”.  Not much came up.  I know that there is a line when supporting someone can actually turn into enabling but where is that line?  What are the code words I need to listen for so I can fall back on a system of specific questions to ask when emotions are raging on the other end of the phone?

These questions are what make up my part of this journey.  It’s not just my mom’s journey fighting cancer anymore.  It’s also the journey of a daughter and her husband, a grand-daughter and her brothers, a pastor and his church, and friends …etc.  As team members we too have to endure.  So, as I move forward in this battle I choose life abundantly – for myself and for those around me.  I choose to press in and find the hidden treasures of this journey so others that come after me can be lifted up.  I choose to broaden my horizons and stretch myself further to enlarge my sphere of influence – because I am world changer – even if it’s one life at a time.

Tagged:
Posted in: Uncategorized